For Andie

The largest chunks of cheese I have ever witnessed.

An employee at “Drunk Cheese” in Burrough Market (note: the script on his apron).

Nom, nom, nom, nom.

Hoot.

~

A sign in the tube station.

I don’t like the message of this sign. I would prefer that it said, “I have a disability,” rather than “I am disabled” because a person’s disability isn’t his or her only defining characteristic. This also contradicts the rest of what the sign says: “Time to get equal.” Saying that someone is disabled is an all-or-nothing view, as if the person is incapable of doing anything. But saying that a person has a disability makes people’s disabilities an aspect of who they are, as opposed to an all-encompassing definition. This way, it’s easier to see people with disabilities as having positive traits, too: artistic talent, athletic ability, a good personality, what have you. This is the former special ed major in me speaking.

Over the summer, I was a special needs camp counselor for two boys who have autism, and while we were waiting in line for a roller coaster, the guy operating the system asked me, “Hey, are they handicapped?” Well, yes, they have a handicap, if you want to call it that. But they can still do all of the same things as the other kids: go on roller coasters, play sports, follow directions, etc.

Anyway!

Tonight, those of us who were home chilled out and watched Reality Bites. I don’t think I will ever get sick of that movie. :]

Leave a Reply

