Rome (Fall Break, Part II)

Rome was definitely my favorite part of break. I stayed with cousins who I have not seen since I was eleven, and I also spent some time with a relative whom I had never met before. She speaks only Italian, so it was pretty interesting to try and communicate with her. I could follow almost everything she said, but I can’t speak it for the life of me (unless you count a mixture of Spanish and bits and pieces of Sicilian dialect that I picked up from my nonna as a kid). But I got by, even though it was kind of embarrassing. My six-year-old cousin Dario and I tried to teach each other words in each other’s languages, which was pretty fun (although he was not pleased with me when I forgot how to say the Italian word for ladybug (cuccinella, by the way)). Before meeting him, I don’t think I’ve ever encountered a child who speaks Italian; it was too cute. Anyway, it was so nice to be there. I still find it hard to believe that my family  lives four blocks from the Colosseum. As my cousin Grace puts it, it’s her son’s playground; his elementary school is across the street.

View from the living room window

La Fontana di Trevi… an attempt at something different. Did it work? I don’t know.

Piccioni sui Scalinata della Trinità dei Monti (Pigeons on the Spanish steps… no idea if that sentence made any sense)

Chestnuts being sold on street corners… didn’t buy any, but I love the idea.

Gracie :]


Colosseum

My cousin Maria and I :]

Courtyard at the Vatican Museum

Roman statue in the museum

La Cappella Sistina

San* Pietro

Fabio and Dario :]

Love this kid.

Protests on Saturday

To give you an idea of how many people were there (Taken from the Palatino)

Roman Forum

I want to go back!!!

Leave a Reply

