Isle of Lewis, Scotland

This past weekend was my homestay in the Isle of Lewis, a gorgeous island off the northwestern coast of Scotland. My trek began at 11:45 p.m. on Thursday, where I took a 12-hour bus ride to Inverness, followed by a 1.5-hour bus ride to Ullapool, and ending with a 3-hour ferry ride to the island, where I arrived at 8 p.m. on Friday. It was a long journey, but it was worth it. The Scottish are some of the friendliest people I’ve ever encountered (right up there with the Irish); they’re unquestionably more outgoing than the English, which was a nice change. To prove my point, I met two different elderly Scottish women on the bus up to Inverness, and one of them even took me out to tea while we waited for the ferry. While Duncan (of my host family) and I were walking in the park, he said hi to pretty much everyone he passed, even though he didn’t know the majority of them personally. That does not happen in London. But it doesn’t happen in New York City, either, so it could certainly be just characteristic of large cities, which wouldn’t surprise me.

Anyway, my host family was really sweet, and two of their grandchildren were over that weekend, too, so it was fun getting to meet them. They took us all around the island to see the landscapes, and we even watched two really good movies (Fargo and Lucky Number Slevin); pretty cool. Parts of the Island actually reminded me of home, specifically, the bay area, which looks similar to the island’s harbor.

open3blog


dsc_0180

dsc_04682

Near the Dun Carloway Broch

dsc_0583Blackhouse Village

dsc_07351

Lewis Castle Grounds

dsc_0878

dsc_0800

open2blog

Beaches

dsc_0144

openblog1

Gracias to AJ for the toning tips.

Leave a Reply

